RSS

An error occurred invoking the Report Definition Customization Extension (RDCE).

30 Apr

I ran across this SSRS report past few weeks and had a hard time to solve the issue. I could deploy and view all the report but one report. It kept giving me this error

  • An error occurred invoking the Report Definition Customization Extension (RDCE). (rsRdceInvalidCacheOptionError)
    • Fatal exception performing AXRDCE transformation step. The report cannot be rendered. Please contact your system administrator.

By goggling, all of searching lead me to this page http://community.dynamics.com/ax/f/33/t/69658.aspx or this page
https://community.dynamics.com/ax/b/brandongeorge/archive/2013/03/03/ax-2012-fatal-axrdce-exception-error-addressed.aspx

I thought i found the answer, but it deviated me even further from the solution.

The following didn’t work:

– Adding report to the “Report Deployment Settings” – the same error was thrown when deploying the report

– SSRS restart

– Deleting AUC and regenerating WCF config.

– Stop/Start Reporting Services

– Delete the report and redeploy

– Create a new config file

– Clear user usage

– Monitor event viewer

– Monitor database

– Use SSRS diagnostic tool to gather information about enviroment

Basically, I tried everything i can to get this to work but no matter what I tried the issue still persisted

One thing to keep in mind report, query  has never been modified. I decided to take different approach by looking at the report itself from VS perspective. I started seeing lights at the end of the tunnel. Recompiling the report in VS, i collected additional information. When I looked at data source, I found out the report was using a query. Looking at the query and tracking all of its datasources, I found out one of the table was missing an index. I removed the bad index field from the index, and reran the report and it worked like a charm

Image

SNAGHTML1400214b

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2014 in Development

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
